18 December 2010

PKR new line-up to face BN in polls....

The PKR's new leadership line-up announced today is a mixed bag of new and old faces. But contrary to initial speculation, the list does not appear to be heavily inclined towards deputy president Azmin Ali's team.

The biggest surprise, however, is the appointment of human rights lawyer N Surendran, 44, to the vice-president's post. He did not offer himself as a candidate in the recent party polls.

Former health minister and MCA leader Chua Jui Meng was also appointed vice-president, while the Sabah and Sarawak quota went to Sarawak chief Baru Bian. Defeated candidates also saw themselves appointed to leadership positions with Youth chief candidate Badrul Hisham Shaharin (more popularly known as Chegubard) given the deputy secretary-general mantle. Defeated deputy presidency candidate Mustaffa Kamil Ayub is now a member of the powerful political bureau while heading the training bureau.

Reshuffle among party heavyweights

While most of the appointments saw young faces and Anwar-loyalists such as Rafizi Ramli taking the strategic director's post and Pantai Jerejak assemblyperson Sim Tze Tsin becoming the deputy information director, there was also a reshuffle among the party heavyweights.

Lawyer Latheefa Koya now heads the newly-set up legal bureau while Dr Mohd Nor Manuty will be replacing her as information chief. Azmin Ali will also be the new elections director, in place of vice-president Fuziah Salleh.

When announcing the line-up at a press conference in PKR headquarters in Petaling Jaya this afternoon, party president Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail said that those appointed have been notified and all have accepted.

"So this issue of rejecting any position does not arise at all since everyone has accepted their posts," she said.



Ketua Umum: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim

Presiden: Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail

Timbalan Presiden: Azmin Ali

Setiausaha Agung: Saifuddin Nasution Ismail*

Naib Presiden:

- Nurul Izzah Anwar

- Tian Chua

- Fuziah Salleh

- Datuk Mansor Othman

- Datuk Chua Jui Meng*

- Baru Bian*

- N Surendran*

Ketua Wanita: Zuraida Kamaruddin

Ketua Angkatan Muda: Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin

Bendahari Agung: William Leong*

Ketua Penerangan: Dr Mohd Nor Manuty*

Pengarah Komunikasi: Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad*

Pengarah Strategi: Rafizi Ramli*

Pengarah Guaman: Latheefa Koya*

Pengarah Jawatankuasa Disiplin: Datuk Dr Tan Kee Kwong*

Timbalan Setiausaha Agung: Badrul Hisham Shaharin, T Kumar, Steven Choong dan Ignatius Darell Leiking

Timbalan Ketua Penerangan: Sim Tze Tzin, Animah Ferrar dan Ir Muthiah

Nota: * merujuk kepada jawatan lantikan


No comments: